Geek Out Challenge – Day 2

For Day 2 of the 30 Day Geek Out Challenge we will be switch to the opposite of yesterday’s question “What was your first fandom?” and ask…

What is your most recent fandom?

I must admit that recently that of all the movies, tv shows, comics, or video games that I have been spent my spare time consuming, the only series that I would consider “new” as in I just hadn’t really gotten around to it yet would have to be the Far Cry game series. I played the first Far Cry game back in 2004 when it was first released, but for whatever reason just never really played any of the sequels. It wasn’t until this last January that I finally got around to playing Far Cry 5, which since then has become one of my favorites of this console generation. I have since that time played all of the other games in the franchise with the exception of Far Cry 2. This has also been a game series that has provided hours of enjoyment playing together with my wife in the evenings, as one of the greatest aspects of any kind of fandom is being able to share and enjoy with others. We have spent many hours talking about what exactly is it about the games that we enjoy so much, whether it be story, music, or simply the fun of running around blowing stuff up in an open-world setting fitting in an 80’s action movie, which clearly have provided much inspiration for the tone of the games. Ubisoft has done a great job in creating games that are all over the place in the best ways: nonsensical, serious, challenging yet fun to casually play all within the same game.

My favorite of the series…

That’s all for round two of the Geek Out Challenge, I didn’t have a ton for today’s question but I’ve had fun so far! Here’s looking forward to the next question…

Author: Gaming Omnivore

Just a guy who loves video games, drinks way too much coffee and can recite way too many Simpsons episodes...

Leave a comment