10 Favorite Games of the Generation

It’s been an amazing seven years since the Playstation 4 and Xbox One were released – a time filled with an array of awesome games, from indie to AAA. This week, we’ve witnessed the dawn of the next generation of games as the Xbox Series X/S as well as Playstation 5 are set to be released. Many of those lucky enough to snag a pre-order for the new Xbox Series X/S or Playstation 5 have been eagerly anticipating the arrival of their new consoles, with even more of us watching with jealousy as social media becomes awash with videos and screenshots of the new hardware and games. Pre-order scarcity notwithstanding, I decided not to pursue the purchase of a Playstation 5 just yet as I have already invested in a gaming pc earlier this year and felt I could hold out for a little while as Spider-Man: Miles Morales is being released on PS4 as well as the PS5. I’m excited to get a chance to play Horizon: Forbidden West and Ratchet & Clank: A Rift Apart when they’re released and fully intend on having a Playstation 5 by the time God of War: Ragnarok is released(I likely have a couple years). I’ve also decided to hold off and see when, or even if I decide to buy an Xbox Series X/S as between PC, PS4 and Switch, I don’t typically use my Xbox One X as often as the others as it functions primarily as a way to play the console-exclusive additions to Game Pass like the Rare Replay bundle or the selection of EA games now that EA Play was added to Game Pass Ultimate subscriptions. In all honestly, it’s probably just a matter of time before I end up buying a Series X console as well. If I were to be even more honest, if going solely by console specs and design I have almost been more impressed by what I’ve seen from Microsoft’s newest console, but I digress…

So, anyway….in the spirit of passing from one game gen to the next, I have made up a list of my ten favorite games of the (now)last generation. I wrote up a list of my 5 favorites way back in March of last year and even after expanding my list to include ten games my top 5 have remained largely unchanged. We begin with a few that I wasn’t quite sure where they would fall in the list but loved nonetheless…

Honorable Mentions

  • DOOM Eternal
  • Persona 5
  • Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain

10. Marvel’s Spider-Man

9. Overwatch

8. Horizon: Zero Dawn

7. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

6. Bloodborne

5. Titanfall 2

4. Far Cry 5

3. Red Dead Redemption 2

2. Super Mario Odyssey

1. God of War

Looking forward to another exciting generation of gaming. What were your favorite games this gen? Let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading!

Author: Gaming Omnivore

Just a guy who loves video games, drinks way too much coffee and can recite way too many Simpsons episodes...

One thought on “10 Favorite Games of the Generation”

Leave a comment