Geek Out Challenge – Day 30

We are approaching the final day of the Geek Out Challenge. We have already discussed our geeky favorites such as movies or games or detailing our earliest or most recent fandoms. For the Day 30 challenge question we’re discussing what fandom is it that you’re most obsessive about.

Most obsessed-over fandom? – Video Games

It should come as no surprise whatsoever that my biggest obsession in life, followed by Star Wars and pizza, most likely. Video games have been a huge part of my life for as long as I can remember, with my earliest gaming memories playing Mario on the family NES. I couldn’t possibly fathom the number of hours that I’ve spent throughout my life playing, reading about, or talking about video games(not sure if I should be proud of that?). I have many memories of my younger brother and I reading Nintendo Power or EGM magazines, and then sit around talking about what games we wanted to play, before figuring out how to get our parents to buy the game for us. Some of my greatest childhood memories would be things like finally getting an N64 for my birthday, or times my friends and I would stay up all night guzzling cans of Mountain Dew and playing Smash Bros and Mario Party around the living room tv. In school there were other kids that played video games, but mostly as something you would play a little bit of here and there, with the notion that gaming was simply something you would eventually “grow out of”. Fortunately the general perception around video games and those that play them has progressed significantly and with the rise of platforms such as YouTube and Twitch, gaming is now a social activity more so than childish hobby. I could into much greater detail( and length) discussing video games and what precisely they mean to me; this being largely why I started my own blog site to ramble endlessly about games.

That’s it for the final day of the Geek Out Challenge, a huge shout out to Megan at A Geeky Gal for initiating this month long challenge! I was able to participate in just about all of the daily topics which provided a genuinely fun experience as well as valuable practice writing on a daily basis, so I’ll pat myself on the back for that too 😉 What is your most obsessed-over fandom? What do you spend more time absorbed in than anything else? Let me know in the comments below. Thank you for reading and goodnight!

Author: Gaming Omnivore

Just a guy who loves video games, drinks way too much coffee and can recite way too many Simpsons episodes...

One thought on “Geek Out Challenge – Day 30”

Leave a comment